Skateboarding

Skateboarding: by Giovina Segalini

Hey guys! Giovina here! I am going to be talking about skateboarding, because I am just fascinated with it. I am a surfer, so I truly am wondering about the difference between skateboarding and surfing. My family is a skateboarding family, but my brothers are learning at the moment, so I really needed a pro. 

I grooved down to Uncle Bud skatepark in Marshfield and met a great skateboarder named Matt. I’ve seen him a few times there, so I asked him a few questions about skateboarding! I asked him about ten questions to hear what he had to say about it. One of the main questions that really got me thinking was about tricks. After all, skateboarding is a sport that includes tricks. When I asked Matt about tricks, he told me that he wasn’t focused on them as much as speed. I observed him skateboarding and he was ripping the walls by getting super high on the sides. At that moment, I wondered: If you had been skateboarding for 24 years, why haven’t you really focused on tricks. Why speed? He told me that he was 30 years old, which really got me thinking “why isn’t this guy wearing a helmet while he’s skating?!” 

This guy did not wear a helmet. Matt even told me he broke his skull at the same skatepark. Most of the people I’ve met that skateboard (including my brothers) all wear helmets. Why did Matt not wear a helmet? Do you wear a helmet? Check out the full interview with Matt here!

2 thoughts on “Skateboarding

  1. I loved this blog. It made me really want to know more about skateboarding in general but I can’t stop thinking about WHY someone would choose NOT to wear a helmet. I find skateboarding a little scary but maybe that is because I have never really tried it. Is a helmet a symbol of a novice? Is it an ego thing? Thank you, Giovina- I really enjoyed reading this. I can’t wait for more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *