The Love of Archery

By Olivia Laaper

Hello, my name is Olivia, I am very interested in archery. This sport is great, for exercise, patience, strength, control, and self-confidence. Today, I would like to talk to you about the three types of bows used in the sport of archery, the Compound, Recurve, and Longbow. 

I got involved in  archery in 5th grade. When I started out I used a Compound bow, and that is the bow I use to this day. The first time I ever used a bow was at summer camp. I didn’t necessarily like it, but after a few years and another try with the bow I really enjoyed it. The most commonly used bow is the recurve bow, this bow has two limbs, these two limbs are facing away from the archer. The fastest types of bows are Mathews TX-5, Hoyt Helix Turbo, and Xpedition MX-15. The main parts of every bow is the string and the main bow. The parts of the recurve bow are, the middle part of the recurve bow called the riser and the top and bottom parts known as the limbs. The main parts of the compound bow are the cams which are located on the top and bottom, the middle part called the riser, the cable slide and cable rod. There is evidence that archery was used 71,000 years ago, but the bows and arrows were usually used for hunting and later war. 

There are many types of bows and parts. Archery can teach someone about focus and corranating. I hope this blog inspires you to try it someday! If you are looking for more information on how to shoot a recurve bow, here is a video demonstrating use of the Olympic Recurve Bow. Enjoy!

One thought on “The Love of Archery

  1. Very cool, thank you Olivia! I’ve always been fascinated by archery. What do you think about combining archery with cross-country skiing — as a different kind of winter biathlon?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *